IES Susquehanna Section, an official local chapter of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IESNA), was founded in February of 1994 by the former members of the North East Pennsylvania Section. Assisted by East Central Regional Vice- President, Edwin Robinson, FIES, the Susquehanna Section was established with Eugene Emerick as the First Section President, Don Fraley as Vice-President, Alex P. Cheng as Education Chairman, Terry Farrell as Treasurer/Secretary and John W. Shannon as Section Newsletter Editor.

Since its foundation, the Susquehanna Section has evolved to be one of the most successful Sections of the East Central Region. Thanks to the active participation of members and non-members in our programs.

In November of 1994, the first lighting course was planned to be offered in Spring of 1995. The Fundamental of Lighting course ED-100 started on February 15. The feedback and comments from the participants were excellent. This course provided a solid foundation for the Section to continue to operate efficiently. In the Fall of 1995, the Intermediate Lighting Course (ED-150) was held.

For many years the chaper had offered scholarships to students in lighting. In 2006 the funds for scholarships were reallocated to organize the first Nittany Lights Workshop.

In 2008 the chapter name was renamed to the IES Harrisburg Section.
About Us
Engineering Society
President - Jason Kashner
Vice-President - Steve Kauffman
Treasurer - Jeff Balan
Secretary - Melissa Conchilla

Board of Managers consist of the following members: Cindy Carpenter, Eugene Emerick, David Rosenberger, Ben Basom

Chair Positions:
Membership Committee - Eugene Emerick
Program Committee - Steve Kauffman
Public Relation/Awards - Cindy Carpenter
Education Committee - Shawn Good
Nominating Committee - Eugene Emerick
Media/Website Committee - Chris Levan
Engineers Week Committee - Gene Emerick
Library Committee - Jason Kashner
Public Relations/Awards Committee - Gene Emerick
Fundraising Committee - Dave Rosenberger
Harrisburg / PA Section
Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Northumberland, Perry, York and Centre
Harrisburg / PA Section